Anahata (unbeaten)

Anahata, which translates to “unstruck” or “that which cannot be destroyed” in Sanskrit, the heart or fourth chakra is located at the center of the chest, at the base of the sternum.

Anahata governs or intention for adoration, our right to love and to be loved, our capacity for self-love, and our social identity.

Psychology of Anahata

The heart chakra is where dharma resides in each of us and deals primarily with our capacity for love and devotion, openness and compassion, our ability to connect and relate well with others, self-acceptance and self-confidence, and balance and forgiveness.

An overactive anahata results in codependency, jealousy, clinginess, excessive demands, or excessive sacrificing. When underactive, this chakra can cause depression, isolation, and loneliness, judgmental and antisocial tendencies, a fear of intimacy, and a lack of empathy and narcissism.

When extremely out of balance, this chakra can bring about grief, anxiety, anger, fanaticism, excessive criticism, the inability to maintain deep relationships or to express feelings, severe codependency and poor boundaries, and addictions to marijuana, tobacco, and sugar.

To heal and bring the Anahata back to balance, practice breathing exercises, journaling, psychotherapy,  yoga and Chakradance, Crystal light bed Sessions…..

Science now views heart intelligence as being on par with or even more powerful than our intellect. Our heart’s constant dialogue with other’s hearts can now be measured.

It is natural to feel each other’s vibration, and this is part of what leads us to find connection and build relationships. We can try to put up barriers to this innate intelligence, or we can embrace our capacity to love and grow it bigger.

Its heard to realize that being vulnerable opens you up to greater pathways of love and healing. Our capacity to be vulnerable is directly linked to our capacity for intimacy and love, especially the kind of unconditional love that doesn’t sit in judgment.


Element: air
Colours: green or pink
Sense: touch
Mantra: YAM

Location: situated on the cardiac plexus in the region of the heart

Deals with: social identity, trust, forgiveness, unconditional love, wisdom, stability, mental patience, compassion, emotional empowerment, issues of the soul

Governs: heart, rib cage, blood, circulatory system, lungs and diaphragm, thymus gland, breasts, esophagus, shoulders, arms, hands

Physical Dysfunctions: thoracic spine, upper back and shoulder problems, asthma,  heart conditions, shallow breathing, lung disease like pneumonia

Psychological and Emotional Issues: difficulty with love, lack of hope, compassion, confidence, despair, moody, envy, fear, jealousy, anger, anxiety

Balanced Chakra: feeling of completeness and wholeness, compassionate, empathic, friendly, optimistic, motivated, nurturing, outgoing

Postures that Balance Chakra: Chest openers like Camel (Ustrasana), Cobra(Bhujangasana), Fish (Matsyasana). Also Pranayama (breathing exercises) like Deep Breathing, Kapalabati, Alternate Nostril Breathing (Analoma Veloma)

Related Gemstones: Emerald, Green Jade, Green Tourmaline, Malachite, Rose Quartz

Related Essential Oils: Lavender, Jasmine, Marjoram

Join ChakraDance Class – Monday, November 6 7pm to balance Heart Chakra through dance and healing music