What are Chakras? (for beginners)

We are not just physical bodies – remarkable though that is – for around

us is a pulsating electromagnetic energy field that is described either as a rainbow-like aura or as luminous light body. This subtle-energy field interacts with our physical body by flowing through concentrated spirals of energy. In yoga practice these spiraling energy centers are known as chakras, a Sanskrit word meaning “wheels of light.”
The  are 7  main Chakras (plus a number of smaller ones) that interact with the body’s ductless endocrine glands and lymphatic system by feeding in good energy and disposing of unwanted energy.
It is vitally important for our general health and prevention of illness or disease” that we nourish our Chakras in the correct way
Blocked energy in our 7 Chakras can often lead to illness
so it’s important to understand what each Chakra represents and what we can do to keep this energy flowing freely. 

1. Root Chakra – Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.

  • Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.
  • Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food.
  • Healing Foods: Red colored foods (apples and beets); Hot spices (Red cayenne peppers and Tabasco sauce); Vegetables from the ground (potatoes and carrots); 
  • Affirmation: “I am a divine being of light, and I am peaceful, protected and secure”

2. Sacral Chakra – Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.

  • Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.
  • Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.
  • Healing Foods: Orange colored foods (oranges, tangerines, apricot butternut squash); Nuts (any kind)

  • Affirmation: “I am radiant, beautiful and strong and enjoy a healthy and passionate life”

3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives.

  • Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.
  • Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.
  • Healing Foods: Yellow colored foods (lemon, pineapple, banana, yellow tomatoes); Grains and fiber (granola, whole wheat bread); Teas (peppermint, chamomile tea)
  • Affirmation: “I am positively empowered and successful in all my ventures”

4. Heart Chakra – Our ability to love.

  • Location: Center of chest just above heart.
  • Emotional issues: Love, joy, inner peace.
  • Healing Foods: Green colored foods (leafy vegetables, spinach, avocado, asparagus, cucumber); Green tea
  • Affirmation: “Love is the answer to everything in life, and I give and receive love effortlessly and unconditionally”

5. Throat Chakra – Our ability to communicate.

  • Location: Throat.
  • Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth.
  • Healing Foods: healthy drinks like pure water, herbal teas and natural fruit juices; Fruits also work well to energize this chakra, especially ones that grow on trees: apples, apricots, peaches, pears and plums. 
  • Affirmation: “My thoughts are positive, and I always express myself truthfully and clearly”

6. Third Eye Chakra – Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.

  • Location: Forehead between the eyes. (Also called the Brow Chakra)
  • Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions.
  • Healing Foods: Purple colored fruits (grapes, blueberries); Chocolate; Lavender flavored spices or tea;

  • Affirmation: “I am tuned into the divine universal wisdom and always understand the true meaning of life situations”

7. Crown Chakra – The highest Chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

  • Location: The very top of the head.
  • Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.
  • Healing Foods: Since the Crown Chakra represents our spiritual connection to our surroundings, this Chakra does not benefit from healing foods. The Crown Chakra is more likely to benefit from breathing clean and fresh air and sunshine.
  • Affirmation: “I am complete and one with the divine energy”